Tuesday Treats #2 And Recovery From Fun

Hello there Peeps!

     Since Saturday, I have been exhausted. Beyond exhausted actually.  It all started Saturday when my family and friends dragged me to a night time  corn maze, and I had to take espresso and b12 shots just to make it through the walking. It was a fun night. I am glad I went. It is soothing to be out and about on a crisp fall night. And it’s hysterical when your friends beat you and taunt you on victory bridge. Mind you, while using a microphone that reaches to the far corners of the maze which everyone can hear, 

     But the recovery time from being sick is just so brutal. I am so weak, breathing is a bit difficult. I actually have an inhaler for these exact moments.  I have to lay in my bed and just forget the world for a few days. Everyone else goes to work, or continues their October plans. Not I. I am forced to recover like a vegetable.  Before you start to think it’s fun that I get to stay in bed, let me tell you that it’s terrifying to be that weak. To not be able to breathe on your own because of this fatigue that has just settled into every organ and bone. I get plenty of panic attacks from the terror I feel. It’s just not pretty.

Well today I am still super exhausted, but I am able to walk about the house. So I decided I needed a pick me up . And there is nothing better, to me, than pumpkin and maple syrup. Put it together, and what do you get? Pumpkin Pancakes! I whipped up a batch of these babies,

Of course, whipping anything up tuckers me out, so after eating a plate, I went back to bed.  Of course. But this is the recipe I followed, and I will tell you the little tweaks I made. Riveting stuff. It makes a lot, so if you are making this for one, get ready to have it all week! That’s a good thing!

King Arthur’s Gluten Free Pancakes

Tweaks: Instead of  2 TBS granulated sugar, I used 4 TBS organic sucanat. ( a free flowing brown sugar that is unprocessed. It really tastes awesome with the pumpkin!) Instead of milk, I used Almond Milk.  I also added about 3 TBS of pumpkin pie spice, and about 1 cup or so of canned pumpkin puree. I did not measure,  I just put in enough to make the batter look nice and orange.

1) Whisk together the eggs, melted butter or oil, milk, and vanilla.

2) In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.  Including the pumpkin pie spice. Stir in the egg mixture. Then add in the pumpkin until it looks nice and orange. But not too much, or else it will be bitter. if this happens, just add in more sugar,

3) To make pancakes: melt butter or something of your choice, in a pan.  Scoop the batter by ¼-cupfuls onto the melted butter.

4) Cook pancakes for 1 to 2 minutes, till the tops lose their shine and bottoms are golden brown. Flip and cook for 1 to 2 minutes on the other side.

5) Serve hot, with butter and syrup. – I used Grade B Maple Syrup. Yum!

 

I know it is said over and over again, never reward yourself with food. But you know what? I can’t breathe well, I feel like a corpse, and my frustration and sadness is running high. So I WILL reward myself.  And it gives me pleasure. Finally.

I can’t wait until I get to a new doctor, my thyroid medicine is increased from it’s piddly starter dose, and this weakness does not overtake me  after being active and having fun!  Just writing this has made me a bit tired. I think it is time for a nap.

 

Stay Healthy!- Nicole 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

