Tuesday Treats #1

Hello there peeps! ( Bird on a branch, get it?)

So as it may now be known, I am suffering from thyroid disease. What kind exactly, I am still unsure. But as the hunt continues, I am doing my best to ease my symptoms on my own. Especially my number one troublemaker-  bone weary exhaustion.  After doing plenty of research and experimentation, my first successful self treatment is going gluten free.  I have read that some thyroid patients lack a particular digestive enzyme, intestinal glutaminase, that helps digest gluten in various food products. As a result, they don’t absorb nutrients well. This leads to deficiencies that wreak all sorts of havoc. That’s because many energy vitamins are the ones being limited.

I have since found that I am deficient in Vitamin D. I am low in Ferritin and Iron, and b12. All energy vitamins! So While I supplement ( another topic for another time) I will be trying to increase my absorption.  So I am gluten free, and dairy free. Except butter. For some reason I feel just fine on butter. Thank goodness for little miracles.  So far, although my vitamin levels have not increased by too much, I do feel a tad less tired by eliminating gluten and dairy. So  I will take it!

So without further ado, I would like to share the treats I am finding and devouring on this journey. Because, let’s face it, there are many  gluten free options for your meals. But little feel good treats, that actually taste yummy? If gluten free/dairy free individuals find or makes these, it is practically your duty to share.  So this is me doing my duty.

While walking through my local grocery store this week, I was on the hunt for anything that would make me feel a part of the autumn passion that runs rampant at this time of year. Especially in baked goods. Then I saw these adorable babies: :

Just seeing these beauties stacked on high through the little cookie window was breathtaking. Seriously.  It is not possible for me to over exaggerate when it comes to dessert. That would be criminal. So, how did they taste? Absolutely delicious. They tasted exactly as the names suggests. They were definitely full of maple flavor, and the cookies were on the crispy crunch side. I do not know if you know this about me, but I am in love with maple. I could bathe in it and be fully content. Remember, I don’t commit crimes of over exaggeration. I truly love maple that much. This cookies hit the spot where maple is concerned, and I loved them. Even my family members who can have gluten loved these.

With a glass of vanilla almond milk, and my favorite slippers on,  I felt like a cozy rebel.

So there you have it, a delicious gluten free and dairy free treat I have been loving this week. If you see these, give them a try. You won’t regret it!

Stay Healthy- Nicole 🙂

Leave a Reply

